It’s #WIPpet Wednesday –K.L. Schwengel’s brainchild which encourages writers to move their WIPs (works-in-progress) to publication by posting excerpts related to the date.

Well, here we are – welcome to my own personal March (Editing) Madness! This month, I began a whole new adventure – revising a completely pantsed WIP – with a plan!

So far, I am relishing this new challenge. It’s taking longer than I thought it might, especially when I need to create a new scene – and there will be plenty of those, as I weave in new characters and subplots. Of course, even the existing scenes are getting a deep-tissue massage. I wrote the first draft of this story in 2009; let’s just say I have learned a great deal along the way, and that this story will benefit from all that learning.

I have no idea how long it will take to finish this first revision pass. But I know I am going to have a far better novel at the end of it! =)

And here’s the cool part:

You can help!

Every comment and insight has the potential to allow me to see this story as a reader, and not a writer. So, when you’re done reading, please consider letting me know what worked or didn’t, for you. I’ll be doing at least three revision passes, and possibly more, so your opinions could lead to something wonderful…but only if you share them!

As I write this, I am in the final stages of drafting Henry’s first plot point. I won’t be moving through the novel in a linear fashion, for this pass, so the WIPpets will be bouncing around.

Today’s WIPpet is a new one, told from Nockatee’s POV. It happens a few days after Henry has rescued her and brought her to his cottage. She’s injured and has lost her sense of who and what she is, but she has some fragmented memories…

And now, on to the WIPpeting!

Chameleon’s Dish is the companion volume to Bounded by a Nutshell (Trueborn Warp series Star Trek fan fiction):

In the dangerously superstitious past of Shakespeare’s England, an amnesiac girl and a foundling boy must keep her strange nature hidden as they stalk her lost identity.

WIPpet Math:

Today is March 5, 2014.

  • Today’s math is simple: I added the month and the date (3+5 =8.)
  • Today’s WIPpet is 8 sentences.

Henry took my hands, and I opened my eyes, to see him watching me, worry scrambling through his scent.

“I prithee, leave off, Nockatee. It would be a simple matter to suffer some deeper hurt. Why take a chance of it, when remembering causes thee such pain, and thee only finds more sorrow in it?”

“Thee has the sound of my father on thy tongue.” I still could not fix my eyes upon what I chose, but I could bring his hand to my cheek, and rub against it; a way to share my pleasure with him.

Henry drew a quick, sharp breath, and his scent was of someone with a hidden bone that wanted gnawing. “Hast thee remembered, then, Nockatee?”

Has Nockatee remembered? If so, what? Will she take an injury, with her efforts to remember her life, before Henry found her? And is she right in thinking that Henry has some secret knowing he isn’t sharing? If so, will it come between them, or draw them closer together?

Stop by next week…I can’t promise answers, but I can promise more questions! =)

For this week, I’ll leave you with one of my favorite songs from 1988 – and one that seems to resonate with Nockatee’s current circumstances…

Want more WIPpets?

