It’s #WIPpet Wednesday again!

The purpose of K.L,Schwengel’s brainchild is to encourage writers to move their WIPs (works-in-progress) to publication by posting excerpts related to the date.

WIPpet NaNoWriMo Edition Math:

Today is November 6, 2013

  • For today’s offering, I added the month and the date (11+6=17).
  • Then I added the digits in the year (2+0+1+3=6) for a total of 23.
  • Lastly, I subtracted 4, for the 4 NaNo WIPpets I will post this month (23-4+19).
  • You get 19 mostly short paragraphs today!

During November, I offer my brand-spanking new for NaNo 2013 Trueborn Warp series Star Trek fanfic WIP, King of Shreds and Patches.

Here’s the logline I’ve created for it:

Spock and an enigmatic woman from a troubled time in his past struggle to save two worlds from alien threats, neither knowing whether their renewed connection will bring salvation or devastation.

Since there are four point of view characters in this WIP, and four Wednesdays  in the month, I will be sharing a snippet of each character’s opening scene – a bit I think speaks to where they are at the beginning of things.

This is Spock’s story (OK, who’s surprised by that?!?!), so I’ll begin with him. His snippet is in first person; all others will be in third.

This WIP deals with the time frame and events covered in Star Trek: The Motion Picture. For those who want a context within the Trueborn double series, these events take place before Spock discovers whether his T’Lys is real, or a childhood dream he’s expanded on over the years.

It’s the companion volume to Sima Garo Provides (Trueborn Weft Series), original fantasy.

This rough-draft passage is lightly edited to remove obvious gaffes and for style, but it is otherwise NaNo-raw.

Enjoy!


No.

I would not relent. Not for me this touching, this release. No. If I was to attain the whole of Kolinahr, I must not waver, now. I must hold, and close myself to my past, and my obsession with a childhood delusion.

I turned away. I would not give myself over to this. My mind rules.

I was safe, in this direction. The sand stretched on, blowing lightly in the growing breeze, with no cliffs to distract me. It was hours too early for stars to be visible, and, in this breath, there was a relief in that.

In this breath?

The delusion was more pervasive than I had thought – and something deep within me was opening, making itself known.

I looked to the sky, allowing my third eyelids to cover my eyes, and I stared at Eridani 40. One star, almost insignificant against the multitudes of Everdeep –

No, not Everdeep – that was her word. Space. One star, insignificant in the vastnesses of space.

Could this star, this world, this path, truly hold all my answers?

“Answers – yes. I must have answers.”

My breath stopped in my throat. This was a new presence; I was certain. A presence contacting me – seeking, as I was seeking.

Seeking – but from me? I had nothing to offer even to myself – which explained my last years at Gol. I was here to seek peace, quiet – the absence of the emotions that had nearly destroyed me, and had destroyed others. What had I to offer, to anyone?

I stared up to Eridani, again, shading my eyes with a hand. The touch had sharpened at my thought, focusing, growing stronger. Yes, something had indeed touched my mind, searching, seeking, finding something within me that drew it closer-

“Sima garo provides.” A whisper, through my memory, like the brush of a cat through my awareness, and all that I was leapt and strained against the restrictions of body and place, wanting, as ever, to be where she was, where she waited…

No.

She was not even memory. She was dream, made in childhood, when the tikkin-nectars had altered me. She held no answers, nor did my yearnings after her, and the fantasy that we were Solemates, that we belonged together.

This was why I had come to this place. To excise fantasy, to free myself of the emotional impulses that I could not understand.

I had thought that I had succeeded, that I could live out my days swathed in emptiness and solitude, and that there could be some peace in that, enough that I could continue, and perhaps, one day, assist others to find similar quietude in their own lives.

I was less than a threeday from shedding my remaining emotions upon the sands, as had many generations of Vulcans before me. I had been cautioned that it might not be possible for me, with my human admixture, to attain such a level of nonattachment and non-emotion.

There we have it – A confused Vulcan who is suddenly feeling, and unsure that he wants what he’s spent years working for. What will he decide (OK, if you’ve seen the movie, you have a clue…)? Is the woman real? Will Spock find peace, and can two worlds be saved?

Are there, in fact, any answers to be had?

No, I’m not telling you – not yet. I’m still writing it, and I want you all curious and eager when I come back! =D

And stay tuned for December, too, when I will be offering a bit of a holiday treat – each week, YOU will get to pick the WIP, and the POV character!

Let’s close out with a song that’s made me think of Spock since I first heard it, decades ago….and one which seems almost perfect for the mood of this piece.

And now – release the comment hounds ! =)

Want more WIPpets? Click the cute little blue froggy to read what other #WIPpeteers are writing, or to join in yourself! We love new folks, around here!

