It’s #WIPpet Wednesday again!

The purpose ofK.L,Schwengel’s brainchild is to encourage writers to move their WIPs (works-in-progress) to publication by posting excerpts related to the date.

WIPpet Math:

Today is October 30, 2013.

  • For today’s offering, I’ve subtracted the month from the date (30-10=20).
  • Then I added two, for a Halloween treat!
  • You get 22 sentences today!

During October, I offer the paired volumes,Chameleon’s Dish (Trueborn Weft series), and Bounded by a Nutshell (Trueborn Warp series).

Chameleon’s Dish is my YA fantasy WIP. Here’s the logline I’ve created for it:

In the dangerously superstitious past of Shakespeare’s England, an amnesiac girl and a foundling boy must keep her strange nature hidden as they stalk her lost identity.

This week, Nockatee discovers a key to her forgotten identity – her name.

This rough-draft passage is lightly edited to remove obvious gaffes and for style.

Enjoy!

All of life was more beautiful. Henry was with her and within her. Father had mentioned the childbond, and how it was done, after the celebration of her last nameday. He had told her that it was to her to choose, at whatever time she was called to someone.

Almost, she could see his face, for a moment, but then there was only Henry, filling her senses.

And that was just as it should be, her spirit singing and dancing and getting all twisted up in his….

“Nockatee -“

“Tisira.”

The word hung between them, for a moment, and then a meaning attached itself to it. “That is my name, Henry. Tisira.”

“Tisira.” He echoed, and she could feel him tasting the flavor of it in his mind, comparing it to the name he had known her by. “It is a very comely name – but, if you will let me, I will still call you Nockatee. To me, that is a lovelier one – for it means you, to me.”

“You wanted to say something to me, Henry – before I remembered my name.”

“Just that I – love you, and I never knew I could be so close to anyone. You – you’ve changed everything.”

“Without you, Henry, I would likely have died. You have most certainly changed everything, for me.”

They were nearly into the outskirts of the city, now, and Henry stopped to adjust her kerchief. “I love your ears”, he said, “but I think they could lead to the sort of attention I don’t think you’ll want.”

 

There we have it – Nockatee is Tisira. What will be next, now that she knows her name? Will she regain all of her memories? Will she learn what she needs to know to stay safe in this time? Will she and Henry stay together?

No, I’m not telling you – not yet. There’ll be more of Henry and Nockatee’s adventures, eventually.

For Novenber, I will be giving Tisira and Henry a bit of privacy, and instead sharing brand-new excerpts from my NaNoWriMo WIP, King of Shreds and Patches.

Today, I offer another oldie, just for fun…. =)

And now – release the comment hounds ! =)

Want more WIPpets? Click the cute little blue froggy to read what other #WIPpeteers are writing, or to join in yourself! We love new folks, around here!

 

