It’s #WIPpet Wednesday again!

The purpose of  K.L,Schwengel’s brainchild is to encourage writers to move their WIPs (works-in-progress) to publication by posting excerpts related to the date.

WIPpet Math:

Today is October 9, 2013.

  • For today’s offering, I’ve used the digits of the month and day (9+10=19)
  • Then, I added the digits of the year (2+0+1+3=6; 19+6=25).
  • Then I added three lines, because they fit I like you!
  • You get 28 sentences today!

During October, I am sharing the paired volumes, Chameleon’s Dish (Trueborn Weft series), and Bounded by a Nutshell (Trueborn Warp series), while I plan my November NaNoWriMo WIP, King of Shreds and Patches, which I will share NaNo fresh next month.

Bounded by a Nutshell is a Star Trek fanfiction novel that tells the other side of Tisira’s story – her family’s search for her, after her sudden disappearance..

This week, we eavesdrop on an interaction between Spock, McCoy, and Spock’s young daughter, Kirana, who is Tisira’s twin, as they prepare for the arrival of Captain Kirk and his cavalry…

This scene occurs some hours after the incidents I shared in Kivaswine Conversation and Soulwounded. Spock has had some time with his wife, followed by a time of peacefully reading with Kirana.

This rough-draft passage is lightly edited to remove obvious gaffes and for style.

Enjoy!

Leonard’s eyes darted to Kirana in surprise, and Spock found himself amused. His eyebrow wanted to lift, but the muscle relaxant had made it impossible to manage more than a twitch.“I didn’t know you could do that,” the Kiral said.

“Obviously, I can,” Kirana said,and her mind followed merrily with, “Or I would not have done so.”

McCoy groaned. “So this is how it goes. Now I have to deal with two generations of this?”

“You are required to do nothing, Leonard. If you wish to be released from your service, or to reside elsewhere, I will not attempt to dissuade you.”

“You pointy-eared martyr, you know I was joking. Read to your daughter. I’m going to grab a shower and go to the nursery with my family. I will meet you -right back here on this couch, mind, in an hours or so, if not a little sooner.”

“When will Jim arrive?” Spock asked, and would have frowned, if he was able – had he not already asked that?

“Lost your time sense, have you? He’ll be here in a little over an hour. You – uh – might want to put a shirt on, before he gets here, so I’ll bring you one.”

“No, He must know, quickly, the scope of my current difficulties. The marks of my Huntress upon me will likely speak more clearly than words can, to one who has seen them before.”

The doctor looked a little surprised. “Not holding back at all, are you?”

“There seems little point. I am long since bonded, and my mate will be with me. Moreover, he must know.”

“Okay, then. I will be here, before Jim is.
Best the two of you not be left alone.”

There we have it – a relatively peaceful moment, in a time of chaos. Will it last? What will happen when Jim Kirk gets there? And, maybe most importantly of all, will they find Tisira, and bring her safely home?

No, I’m not telling you – not yet. There’ll be more, in two weeks.

For October, I will be alternating between Chameleon’s Dish and Bounded by a Nutshell, so check back next week if you want to read more about Tisira and Henry, and what they are up to!

This seems like a good week for another father/daughter song – this one for Spock and Kirana, because, really, Tisira has been getting a lot of attention!

 

And now – release the comment hounds ! =)

Want more WIPpets? Click the cute little blue froggy to read what other #WIPpeteers are writing, or to join in yourself! We love new folks, around here!

