It’s #WIPpet Wednesday again!

The purpose of  K.L,Schwengel’s brainchild is to encourage writers to move their WIPs (works-in-progress) to publication by posting excerpts related to the date.

WIPpet Math:

Today is September 25, 2013.

  • For today’s offering, I’ve used the number of the day.
  • Then, I added one, because this is the first Wednesday of the ROW80 break.
  • You get 26 sentences today!

During August and September, I am focusing on editing the paired volumes,Chameleon’s Dish (Trueborn Weft series), and Bounded by a Nutshell (Trueborn Warp series)

Bounded by a Nutshell is my September WIP. It is a Star Trek fanfiction novel that tells the other side of Tisira’s story – her family’s search for her, after her sudden disappearance..

This week, we eavesdrop on a rather unexpectedly volatile conversation between Captain Kirk and his former First Officer, who is now the Vulcan Ambassador.

This scene occurs just prior to the conversation between McCoy and Kirk I shared in Soulwounded.

This rough-draft passage is lightly edited to remove obvious gaffes and for style.

Enjoy!

…I know you probably don’t want me to say it, and you certainly don’t have to admit it, but this has got to be hell, for you.”

I will admit it freely, Jim. It is a level of hell I never knew existed. It is too painful to be endured – I cannot contain nor control my emotional responses to it, at this time, nor find balance.”

Spock held his gaze as the anger faded – not really anger at him, Jim saw now, but at the situation, and his own helplessness. Perhaps at the scientists who had made the critical error. Maybe at Starfleet, for commissioning the project, and whisking his daughter away. Jim hadn’t been around much, but he knew for certain that Spock cherished the family he had thought he might never have, more than he had ever treasured anything.

Now Spock drained the glass in one quick, savage gulp, reached for a decanter, and poured sloppily, emptying the glass again, and now there was rebellion in his eyes – rebellion against Jim’s judgment,maybe, or, more likely, what he no doubt saw as his own weakness.

“I’m done judging, Spock.”

“That,” Spock said, with a palpable note of scorn. “Is highly unlikely, Jim.”

Jim didn’t comment. If Spock wasn’t capable of restraining himself now, it would be unkind to remind him by taking offense. “Does it help?” he asked instead, gently.

Spock contemplated the glass, then drank it down, and another, in quick succession. He poured again, getting nearly as much on his desk as in the glass. “I do not believe I am nearly inebriated enough to ascertain that, Jim.” He was starting to sway as his balance became affected.

Knowing how secretive Spock could be, especially regarding his moments of emotional weakness, Jim asked, “Are you alone? Do you want someone to talk to, for a while? Or just to be with you?”

Leonard and Niaan are well aware of my activities, Jim. You need not be concerned; the alcohol was medically prescribed by my Kiral, and my wife, as you will recall, is most vigilant in matters of my protection and care. They are nearby, but they have allowed me the privacy to speak to you as I will. I will not be left alone, nor allowed to harm myself, nor any other.”

There we have it – a grieving and seeking father known for his control, barely holding himself together, by the most dubious of means. Will he hang on, or sink more deeply? Will Tisira by found, and will she be well, if she is?

No, I’m not telling you – not yet. 

For October, I will be alternating between Chameleon’s Dish and Bounded by a Nutshell, so check back next week if you want to more about Tisira and Henry, and what they are up to!

There aren’t any songs about kivaswine that I know of, so I improvised a bit… cheers! =)

And now – release the comment hounds ! =)

Want more WIPpets? Click the cute little blue froggy to read what other #WIPpeteers are writing, or to join in yourself! We love new folks, around here!

