It’s WIPpet Wednesday again!

 The purpose of  K.L,Schwengel’s brainchild  is to encourage writers to move their WIPs (works-in-progress) to publication by posting excerpts related to the date.

WIPpet Math:

Today is August 21, 2013.

  • For today’s offering, I’ve subtracted the digits of the month from the date (21-8=13).
  • This worked out perfectly with the passage I wanted to share, so….
  • You get 13 liness today!

During August and September, I am focusing on editing the paired volumes,Chameleon’s Dish (Trueborn Weft series), and Bounded by a Nutshell (Trueborn Warp series).

Chameleon’s Dish is my August WIP. Here’s the logline I’ve created for it:

In the dangerously superstitious past of Shakespeare’s England, an amnesiac girl and a foundling boy must keep her strange nature hidden as they stalk her lost identity.

This week, Tisira begins making excursions into the woodlands where she has inexplicably awakened from a nap in her father’s office.

She’s survived a week, more or less, and has seen no one – until now.

This passage is lightly edited to remove obvious gaffes and for style.

Enjoy!

The dream had begun pleasantly, but now there was some element of danger in it.   It worried at her, would not leave her to enjoy her dreaming.   Danger!, it whispered and sang and shouted – 

Tisira awoke with her hackles up and her talons digging into the roughened bark.   Someone was coming through the forest with a staggering,crashing loudness, singing – or, more accurately, shouting, as he came….

“Doubt thou the stars are fire,ho!   Doubt that the earth doth move, hey!   Doubt truth to be a liar, oho!   But never doubt I love, ohayha!”

The words sizzled into Tisira’s soul. I know those words! – but, in this breath, she could not remember from where she had them.  

The man came on, about two twentypaces away, veering here and there, but generally moving deeper into the forest.   “I know th’road’s round here, s’mwhere,” he muttered, as he stumbled through the undergrowth, then he started singing again…

There we have it – the village drunk, maybe? The Bard himself? Friend, foe, or neither?

No, I’m not telling you any of that – partly because I want to keep you in suspense, until we come back to Tisira, and partly because, while taking editing notes for this scene, I realized that shortly after this bit, what I had written was contrived and flat. And, then, – whammo! – the scenes launched themselves into my mind, where they are now making a delicious lovely chaos with the plot.

Tisira will be back on hiatus, after this week, until October, when she will return, hopefully with some answers…at least, until she falls out of that tree and forgets everything!

And now – release the comment hounds ! =)

In other news, I may have found not one, but two theme songs for Tisira and Henry – accidentally…here’s the one I imagine for Tisira, and I will reveal Henry’s next week.

Want more WIPpets? Click the cute little blue froggy to read what other #WIPpeteers are writing, or to join in yourself! We love new folks, around here!

 

