It’s #WIPpet Wednesday again!

The purpose of K.L,Schwengel’s brainchild is to encourage writers to move their WIPs to publication by posting excerpts related to the date.

Until July, I will be posting excerpts from two of my Trueborn WIPs (works-in-progress);

  • Chameleon’s Dish, Trueborn Weft Series fantasy novel.

  • Bounded by a Nutshell, a Trueborn Warp Series Star Trek fan fiction novel.

These two series are interwoven. The plan is to offer the Warp Series fan fiction freely, and eventually publish the original fantasy Weft Series for sale.

\

This week, we return to Bounded by a Nutshell, Trueborn Warp Series (Star Trek fan fiction)I played with the math a little to choose today’s passage: Today is June 5, 2013 – But when I chose the selection for this week’s post, I thought it was the 6th, and, since I like this passage, I am keeping it. I also really don’t remember what math I used to choose this (erroneous) passage.

This is therefore a potentially thoroughly random passage.

We find Leonard McCoy, serving as Spock‘s Kiral (a combination healer/butler/assistant/companion/sparring partner/brother-in-law/bodyguard) at the Vulcan Science Academy, where both their families are making their home. Spock is the Vulcan Ambassador-at-Large, and his daughter, Tisira, has recently been involved in a spontaneous time travel accident.

Spock has just spoken to Jim Kirk on the Enterprise, and it was a chaotic, distressing interaction. The Kiral is attempting to “mop up the mess”, while respecting Spock’s right to privacy.

This scene appears as originally written, cleaned up a bit for an audience.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Jim was staring at the screen with narrowed eyes, but he was obviously trying to contain the rant Len knew was coming, unless he could defuse it, first.

“I guess you’ve got a question or two, Jim,” he said, going to the chair and avoiding the remnants of Spock’s glass. “I won’t betray any confidences, but you know that. Go ahead and ask; Spock has authorized me to speak on his behalf, until he’s able to speak for himself, again.”

Bones – I don’t even know what to ask. It’s clear he’s not all right, so that answers that……I guess I could ask if he will be, and if you have anything better than alcohol to treat him with.”

“He’s not sick, Jim – more – well, the Vulcan term is ahk’kah – “soulwounded”. Vulcans feel their family connections, to the depths of their beings. He’s sensed every one of his children from nearly the moment they were conceived.”

“And he can’t feel her, now – and that is – psychically – painful?”

An open invitation – come join us!

“He can feel her, Jim – but nowhere near the way he’s used to, or needs to. Spock – well, you’ve made yourself pretty scarce, so you can’t really understand the way he and Jeniah are with the children. You’ll have to see for yourself. But, Jim – it isn’t just painful. This is a shattering of his reality, and his psyche, on a level he has never experienced before. I’m not going to lie to you, Jim – if something happens, and Tisira dies, he might too. And, even if he lives, he might never recover fully.”

“Why does it always have to be that way, with Vulcans? Never, ‘It’s just a sniffle; he’ll be fine tomorrow, Jim’. It’s always something that could get him killed.”

“It is what it is, Jim. And he is who he is.”

“Is there anything else you can do for him?”

“Me? No, other than making sure he gets food and sleep, help take care of the children, and kept as calm as possible. As for the rest – I believe Lady Jeniah is taking care of that, already.” His smile said that it was the type of care only a woman could provide.

“That wine – I’m not sure it agrees with him, Bones. He was – ”

Len nodded. “A mess?” he asked sardonically.

“To put it mildly. Bones – I think he scared himself.”

“He’s terrified, Jim. And I know the feeling.”

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Comments? Questions? Observations? I love feedback! Drop it in the comment receptacle below – and click on the button below to read more great excerpts from other #WIPpeteers!



